Skate-themed sugar cookies

Skating is my passion and a big part of my life. I’ve started sewing skating accessories and last weekend, after getting a skate shaped cookie cutter, I tried icing sugar cookies for the first time.

In honour of my husband and his friends playing their annual Hockey Day in Canada hockey tournament out on the pond, I decided to make my first attempt at these Maple Leaf-inspired since the Leafs are their favourite hockey team.

I found the recipe for the best rolled cookies of all time on allrecipes.com. I cut it in half because I had no desire to ice, or eat, 60 plus cookies, and it truly was the best rolled cookie recipe ever. Very easy to make, I whipped up the cookie dough in less than 20 minutes and popped it in the fridge to firm up overnight.

The next night I rolled the dough, cut the shapes and baked the cookies. Only taking six minutes each to bake, I was really happy with the progress I was making. I let the cookies cool overnight and got up early on Saturday morning to ice them.

My friend Anja told me to first pipe the outline of the cookies in thicker royal icing, then thin it down a bit to spread the inside to a smooth, shiny surface. This was great information because I literally had no idea how I was going to do this. Looking for a good royal icing recipe, I also found this video tutorial from The Joy of Baking, which confirmed what Anja had told me, and let me see it for myself.

The end result, in my opinion, was pretty darn good for a first attempt. Next time I’ll be making figure skates, but with my skating team’s competition season ramping up, I’m not sure when I’ll have the time to devote to that!

The best rolled sugar cookie recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups butter, softened
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (or overnight).
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets.
  3. Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely.

Baker’s Note: I cut this recipe in half and made at least 36 cookies of combined shapes including skates, stars, cats and dogs.

About mzcrisy

I'm a 20-something journalist currently working as a writer. In my spare time I enjoy creating things from scratch and appreciate others that do the same. This blog will be dedicated to that.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment